2017 Fall Meeting


Many new and existing members attended our meeting. It was nice to mingle with old friends and meet poets from the Muskegon area. Minutes from the meeting are here: PSM Minutes Fall Meeting 2017

Elections were held in the morning.  Here are the results:

Elizabeth Kerlikowske, President
Jennifer Clark, Vice President
Recording Secretary- vacant at the time of the meeting- position has been filled
Corresponding Secretary- Debra Bechtel-Briggs, effective immediately
Treasurer- Susan Anderson
Newsletter Editor- vacant- Phillip J. Sterling will continue as Editor until a replacement has been found.

Appointed Offices:

Historian- Inge Logenburg Kyler
Jerry Lang- Parliamentarian
Melanie Dunbar- Peninsula Poets Editor and Contest Chairperson

All board member positions take effect January 2018, unless noted. Thank you, outgoing Board Members, for your service to PSM. We look forward to seeing you at the Spring Meeting!

Julie George was honored as a long-standing member of the PSM. President Polly Opshal presented her with a Certificate, and Julie read winning poems from Poetry Society of Texas’ contest, of which she is a judge. She also read one of her own poems. Julie has been an indispensable part of the Society for many years. She has held many (if not all!) board positions during her membership. Thank you Julie, we appreciate you!

Larry Thomas Workshop Photo

Honorary Chancellor Larry Thomas led the membership in a writing workshop. He gave a very interesting presentation, challenging members to write a poem based on one of the poems in the packet he discussed.

The Travelling Trophy winner was announced just before we adjourned. Brenda Gasahl of Norton Shores is this Fall’s winner. Congratulations, Brenda!